9 Flights. 15 cities. 8 shows. 3 weekends…

During the month of November, I was given the opportunity to go on tour. Yes. A concert tour, tour bus and all.  For some, this may seem like a miserable way to travel. Sleeping in what many call ‘Rolling Coffins”, living in a tight space with 8 other people, showering in random locker rooms, and living on very little sleep do not sound all that fun. For me, it was a dream turned into reality. Ever since I began scratching my way through the music industry, touring has been on my list of things to do.  And this was no small tour…

Through OneVerse’s partnership with Word and the Winter Jam Tour discussed in my last post, I was able to go out on the road as a rep for the End Bible Poverty campaign.  Each night I got to talk to concert-goers about the opportunity to help translate the Bible into languages that don’t have it yet.  But beyond that, I got to hear their stories, their testimonies of life-changing moments, and how the music at the shows have touched their hearts.  These were my favorite parts of the entire experience.  I loved witnessing faces light up as they sang along, hearts ignited, to fervent lyrics and burning melodies. So many incredible moments.

my set-up

Now onto a few of my other favorite things from the tour J…

1)   Travel. I got to visit 8 cities I had never been to before:  Denver, Boise, Portland, Seattle, Fresno, Bakersfield, Sacramento, and Ontario. Most of which I am ready to go back and really visit, but it was fun to get to see them!

Smurf Turf!

2)   Community. New friends. When you are among people with common goals and passions for an extended period of time, relationships are bound to form. I met so many great people and created a ton of memories.  But when it was all over, it felt like summer camp was over. 😦 I miss them.

we love sno cones

3)   Catering. This may seem odd, but we had a traveling catering group that fixed us breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  It was always spectacular.  I would often be greeted with the smell of something smoking on the grill as I got off of the bus every morning. Yum!

lines waiting to get in. love those palm trees.

4)   Jam Church. An incredible time for everyone on the tour to gather and worship together.  Of course when everyone is in the music industry, the worship is amazing.  It was also a great reminder of what we were there for.

Audience

5)   Jesus Freak. I can’t help it. One of my favorite parts of the show was when KJ52 came out and rapped Jesus Freak with Michael Tait. Took me back to my childhood.

Yes. Duncan from the Newsboys is still Drumming as he is spinning.

6)   Late nights. I’m such a night owl, so this lifestyle totally fits me. Waking up at 10am. Going to sleep at 2:30am. Perfection 🙂 Being completely slap-happy brought about many amusing conversations. Of course the late night meals from In&Out and Chick-fil-a helped as well.

Chick-fil-A Fun

Needless to say, I have the itch to hit the road again. It is an interesting lifestyle, not glamorous, but exciting and always interesting.  I loved waking up in a new city every morning.  I will leave you with this quote that says it far better than I could ever dream…

 “Traveling is a brutality. It forces you to trust strangers and to lose sight of all that familiar comfort of home and friends. You are constantly off balance. Nothing is yours except the essential things – air, sleep, dreams, the sea, the sky – all things tending towards the eternal or what we imagine of it.” – Cesare Pavese

One thought on “9 Flights. 15 cities. 8 shows. 3 weekends…

Leave a Reply

