Makin’ a list…

Checkin’ it twice…

Ok, so yes.  It is now January.  The holidays have come and gone and I am a little late on the Christmas themed title. Just bear with me, it fits perfectly for this post!

This is not about a “naughty or nice” list…it’s about my bucket list. The ever-growing, highly ambitious list of things I hope to do during my time on this earth.  During the Fall of 2011, I took a leap of faith and moved to TX for a few months.  I had no idea of the blessings that I would be flooded with; some of which led me to cross a few things off of my list. 🙂

1. Live alone.  EVERYONE. Yes, everyone should do this at one point in your life.  It is completely freeing in so many ways.  Although my temporary living space was a not-so-glamorous extended stay, I made it my home.  And some days I miss that old Motel 6.

2. Go to a TX high school football game.  Since my dad was a college football coach, I grew up saturating the intricate elements of the game. Not to mention, I live in the south and this means I am surrounded by 3 all-important letters: S-E-C. Beyond my love for college football, I had always heard about how intense the high school sport in TX was, and then Friday Night Lights hit the big screen.  Since I was a high school athlete myself, I was desperate to experience this excitement in this arena.  I am so glad I did. The pictures don’t give justice to how large of a platform these events are placed. Football bowls larger than many college stadiums, crazed fans, incredible talent, and debs. Yes, I said debs.  These would be the teenage version of the Dallas Cowboy’s Cheerleaders

If you are ever in Texas during the Fall, I highly reccomend finding a big game underneath those Friday Night Lights…

3. Ride a motorcycle.  It’s something that I have always wanted to do.  Although we went slow to accommodate my first-timer syndrome, it was still fun.  And while I am no thrill seeker, I would love jump on a bike again and maybe go a little faster 🙂 maybe…

4. Go to an MLS game. For those of you unfamiliar with the beautiful game, that would be a Major League Soccer game. While I have played the sport for 20 years of my life, for whatever reason, I have never ventured to a professional game.  I hate that soccer is not as beloved here in the States as it is across the globe.  And although the FC Dallas home stadium was fairly empty and the team came up with a loss, we still had a great time.

5. Go two-steppin’. Every female MUST do this. This is a non-negotiable. Find a guy who knows what he is doing and you will feel like a princess all. Night. Long.  There is just something about being spun, dipped, and led through a dance floor by a guy that is just plain delightful. 🙂

6. Hear live music in Austin, TX.  There is no debate that Austin is the live music capitol of the world.  Take a walk along 6th street, and your ears are flooded with hundreds of beats, melodies, and voices streaming through the night air. There is so much talent that deserves to be heard. Austin, I will be back!

7. Walk the San Antonio River Walk. Beautiful and fascinating.  It’s like an Americanized version of Venice, Italy (which is also on my list). Rich in history, yet thriving with modern business. And just plain breathtaking.

8. Travel. Tour. Ect… All of which was explained in more detail in my post below.

Between the laughter, solitary moments, and adrenaline rushes, a few other random items were added (and checked off) the list…

Eat fried cookie dough. Learn the game of baseball (kind of). Play TopGolf. Witness a pig race. Co-write with my talented friend Cameron Ernst. Experience ‘Jean Fridays’. And witness TX sunsets.

As we dive into 2012, my list continues to expand along with my curiosity of this beautiful creation in which we live.  I pray that you never lose the wonderment of a child. Question everything. Learn from others. Lean not on your own understanding. Chase your own adventure. And above all else, chose love.

*Written while listening to these great albums: SafetySuit – These Times; Graham Colton – Pacific Coast Eyes, Volume 2; Paper Route – Absence* 

I’m curious. What’s on your list?

 

Leave a Reply

