Diagnosis

I’m sick. I have been suffering from a number of symptoms for a while now.

Restlessness.

Anxiety.

Cold Feet.

Impulsive Behavior.

Just to name a few…

As these issues started to affect my daily life and decisions, I didn’t realize that these problems were an outpouring of a specific disease that I suffer from. I have finally taken it upon myself to claim a diagnosis.

Wanderlust.

wan·der·lust  (wndr-lst)

n.

A very strong or irresistible impulse to travel.

Such a shiny word for such an antagonizing disease. Yes, I am calling it a disease because of the way this desire affects my life.  It’s like having a fear of commitment times 20.  I live for the what-ifs and the maybes. I am constantly seeking out opportunities to get me away from where I am in the here and now.  And all of these contribute to my indecisiveness.

I don’t even know where I want to go.

Back-pack through Europe?

Move to work at a South African Orphanage?

Go on tour?

Camp on a beach for a while?

Get me to all of these. Right now.

I hope that all of my friends and family at home don’t take this the wrong way.  I love each and every one of you, and I always enjoy coming home.  This feeling will never change.

I am just now discovering my heart’s love affair with traveling.  As much as I claim it “affects” my daily life, I hope that it never goes away.  I pray that my sense of wonderment, and adventure never fade.  This earth and this life are precious gifts that are meant to be enjoyed and discovered.

For now, I will treat my disease as I travel a few more weekends with The Revolve Tour.  And I will learn to make discoveries here, at home.

I challenge you to do the same.  Get to know a stranger. Try a new recipe.  Paint. Go for a walk. Read a book.

Make a discovery today, and fulfill your Wanderlust.

2 thoughts on “Diagnosis

Leave a Reply

