summer.

Hello dear friends. It has been a minute since I have written anything. My apologies.

I have been busy preparing for my summer in Californ-I-A.  Los Angeles…’er… Santa Monica to be exact!  I am out here working for the GRAMMY Foundation for a few months and I am beyond ecstatic about it! But more about the job later…

Right now I wanted to discuss this new season.  Spring is turning into summer.  School is out. People are fleeing to the beaches. Weddings occupy our weekends. Pale skin is suddenly sun kissed and we are all craving Hawaiian Shaved Ice. (I’ll take a blue raspberry mixed with cherry, please!)  ‘Tis the season of festivals, celebrations, back yard BBQ’s and down right good times.

But what exactly will you DO with this season?

As I am only on the West Coast for a few months, I created a list of things I want to accomplish. I don’t want to let the summer pass me by and only be able to say that I had fun at work.  I want to take full advantage of my time here.

This weekend, I jumped the gun and crossed a couple of things off of the list!

Image

Runyon Canyon.  A beautiful and challenging 3 mile hike that leads you to an incredible view of the City of Angels.   Sitting just 2 blocks off Hollywood Boulevard rests this incredible wilderness scene.

Image

The pictures really don’t give it much justice.  This is a must-do when in LA. Write it down. Add it to your list. Now.

My next adventure may or may not have had allowed my body to gain the calories that I burned while hiking back. And then some.

Diddy Riese. This little gem is nestled in the neighborhood of Westwood, close to UCLA’s campus, and I’m in love with it.

Like ice cream?

Like cookies?

How about together?

Then Diddy Riese is the place for you!  You get to build your own sandwich for a measly $1.75. Yes, you read that correctly.  One dollar and .75 cents. And this is no small sandwich, you definitely get your money’s worth.

Image

The hardest part was deciding. I’m terrible with decisions anyways, and when there are so many options I’d almost rather flip a coin.  But I did the adult thing and figured out what I wanted.

I went with the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough ice cream nestled between a Chocolate White Chocolate Chip Cookie and a White Chocolate Chip cookie. It was divine.  I was nervous that the cookie dough ice cream may add too much flavor, but no. I would order the exact same creation again. Like today.

I am pretty excited about knocking a couple of items off of my “LA to-do list” within the first week of being here.  However, I am convinced that the saying “the best is yet to come” is true.  I would prefer that the line be sung by Frank Sinatra…but that is an entirely different subject.

I learn more and more everyday that life is about the experiences that you are given and what you choose to do with them.  So how will you choose to spend your summer?  You may be perfectly content with an occasional trip to the pool. If that’s the case, at least take a few jumps off the high dive every now and then.

But if you want to soak up all that this season of life has for you, do it. Do it with intent. Wrap your memory around it and encounter pure joy. Dive in head first (off of the high dive, if you must). Immerse yourself in the moments that this summer will bring you. And don’t be afraid to show off your sun kissed skin a time or two. 😉

Leave a Reply

