double dip (pronounced deeyup)

hello fellow music lovers.  i believe that we need to start this monday off with an apology for missing last week.  there was some craziness going on…like the fact that i, Kellyn, moved to LA.  crazy. but more on that later…

in order to make it up to you, Tiffany and I decided to give ya the double whammy, two songs from both of us. i know…it’s like Christmas!!

Enjoy!

Round #1

Tiffany:  You Me At Six – Crash

You Me At Six is a British rock band and the following song is off their third album. I think one of the reasons why I’m fond of their sound is because it’s the type of music I used to listen to in high school. I’m partial to simplistic rock ballads that build up towards the end and that’s exactly what this song does, not to ruin it for you. 🙂

Kellyn:  Drew Holcomb and the Neighbors – Fire and Dynamite

Since I moved away from Nashville last week, I decided to show the Music City Indies some love today.  This band is fronted by Drew and Ellie Holcomb, an adorable, ridiculously talented couple.  I was lucky enough to see them perform quite a few times in Nashville and this is definitely my favorite song of theirs.  The lyrics get me every time… 

“you are novel in sea of magazines…”

Round #2

Tiffany: Tristan Prettyman – I Was Going To Marry You

I saw her open for The Script when they were in L.A. She’s from San Diego (So.Cal represent!) and used to model for Roxy. I got chills when she performed this song live. It’s so pretty, yet a bit depressing when you listen to the lyrics. FYI, she was engaged to Jason Mraz.

Kellyn: Seryn – We Will All Be Changed

So I had heard of the band Seryn, but i never really made the effort to check them out.  this was very wrong of me. i was at the Story Conference in Chicago a few weeks ago and was handed a free CD from the music licensing company, The Music Bed.  It was full of incredible music, but this song struck me.  I quickly looked to see who it was, and of course, the band i should have checked out years before…

now go out there and have a killer week and don’t forget about our Spotify playlist, created just for YOU.

oh. and please show these bands some love if you like what you hear. check them out and spread the word.

until next week….

Leave a Reply

