a musically fantastic monday

well hello december! so crazy to think that it’s the last month of 2012, right?  let’s kick this month off with some good tunes, shall we?

Tiffany’s Pick: Evan & Jaron – On The Bus

Another throwback. I can’t believe this song is from 2001! To this day, their self-titled album is still one of my favorite albums. Their big song was “Crazy For This Girl” which some of you might remember. They also had a song called “The Distance”  that appeared on the Serendipity soundtrack (another good song). I love this song, “On The Bus”, because it’s an upbeat song about making things happen!

Never say never and don’t wait forever
It’s an open mind that sees that now is the time
To take a chance, take a shot, take control of the situation
I can’t stand around here telling you
About the things I’ve done and what I got to do
So are you on the bus or not, Cause we’re leaving the station…

Kellyn’s Pick: Atlas Genius – Trojans 

I can’t take credit for this find at all.  I actually heard this song for the first time on a radio station here in Los Angeles, KROQ.  To be honest with you, I don’t listen to the radio much anymore.  I mean with Spotify, CDs, and iPhones, providing exactly what I want to hear, why would I want to suffer listening to music that I don’t like?!  Well,  the few times I have listened to KROQ I have heard this song, and I love it.  I don’t know much about the band, and their website is pretty vague…but I’m intrigued.  This song walks through some of the emotions and thoughts people suffer during a break-up in an incredibly illustrative way.

I think we should take a moment to acknowledge the power of radio, and the fact that is still exists.  yay for all of you working in this field of the music industry…and for all of you bands that take so much time out of your days to make visit after visit.  it’s worth it. keep on keepin’ on!

oh. and if you haven’t seen the movie Serendipity that Tiff mentioned, seriously, go watch it now.  it’s a perfect Christmas movie.

well, that’s all for your now…may your week be filled with joy, laughter, and good music.

Leave a Reply

