a rare commitment

for those of you that know me, you know that i have a major fear of commitment.

i cry with all major decisions. no matter how much i pour over a pros and cons list, i’m too scared to make the wrong decision and make a commitment for any length of time.  what if i end up hating it? what if i’m stuck? what if, what if, what if…

I’ve realized now that in life, it’s very rare that you are permanently STUCK with anything (although this thought still doesn’t make my life decisions much easier).  However, there are a few things that I will have for the rest of my life on earth (and the life after):

– my family (and how thankful I am for that)

– my relationship with Jesus

– and tattoos

yes, tattoos.  I got my first one when I was 18 (with my mom), and i just got my third one this week, and it’s my favorite by far.  It’s in honor of my Granny Jo who passed away last year.  I knew that I wanted to do something, but I wasn’t sure what.  Then I remembered that my favorite things that I have left of her are her notes.  She would send a card for EVERY occasion, and sometimes just randomly.  I cling to these notes so tightly now, so I decided to create a way that I could carry them with me.

tattoo love

Love, in her handwriting, from the very last letter she wrote me – just a week before she passed. Just looking at this photo brings tears to my eyes.  It was a commitment that I didn’t have to think twice about – a rare moment indeed.

Leave a Reply

